Monday, July 20, 2015

The Dragon Has Three Heads

Frequently throughout ASOIAF, we see that "the dragon has three heads;" the three-headed dragon is the sigil of House Targaryen, and Daenerys hatched three dragon's eggs. It is obvious that Daenerys is one of the three dragons, but who are the other two?

"Queen Daenerys" by slothmaker, Deviantart

I am thinking the other two heads of the dragon are Jon Snow and Meera Reed, and here is why.

1. R+L=J
Jon Snow. Image: HBO

Enough said. Jon is most likely the child of Rhaegar Targaryen and Lyanna Stark, meaning that he could yield control over dragons like the Targaryens of old.

2. Meera Reed, or R+L=M

Meera Reed. Image: HBO

Ned Stark and Howland Reed were the only survivors of Ned's attempted rescue of Lyanna, and just as Jon Snow is Ned's oldest child, Meera Reed is Howland's oldest. We know Jon and Meera are "similar" in age, because the books mention that Meera and Robb Stark are "of an age" (and Robb and Jon were born in the same year). Perhaps Howland gave Meera his own last name because Crannogmen "do things differently," as many characters in the books point out.

It is also definitely worth mentioning that the actress playing Meera Reed looks like Kit Harrington (Jon Snow). The directors could have made that casting decision very consciously, because they know what comes later on in the story.

What do you think about this theory? Which other characters do you think could be the remaining two heads of the dragon? Leave me a comment and let me know!

P.S. If your comment doesn't post, use the contact form and let me know!

No comments: